From Dragon Quest Wiki
Revision as of 19:51, 4 April 2017 by TheCodingGamer (talk | contribs) (added battle visual)

Thwack is an instant-death spell that targets a whole group of enemies, stopping the heart (or nearest approximate). Characters that take up the paths of Priests and Sages are the only humans that learn the whack line, giving the impression of the spell family being a case of "forbidden" magic reserved only for the pious.


Dragon Quest II: Luminaries of the Legendary Line

Thwack is learned by the Prince of Cannock at level 23, and costs 4MP to cast. Infamously, frostburns will cast it ceaselessly in the NES version.

Dragon Quest III: The Seeds of Salvation

Priests and sages will learn Thwack at level 28, and it costs 7 MP to cast.

Dragon Quest IV: Chapters of the Chosen

Kiryl learns Thwack at level 24 and now costs 7MP to cast, remaining so until IX.

Dragon Quest V

Name Level
Snowbird --
Orc king 15
Samigina 20
Bianca 23
Nera 23
Debora 25

Dragon Quest VI

Thwack is learned by advancing to rank 7 of the Priest vocation.

Dragon Quest VII

Thwack is learned by reaching the first rank in the sage vocation in the original and 3DS remake.

Dragon Quest VIII

Angelo learns Thwack at level 22.

Dragon Quest IX

Thwack is learned by priests at level 34, and costs 10MP. It works off of the priest's Magical mending, raising the base accuracy from 50% once the stat hits 100 points, capping at 100% effectiveness (barring resistance) at 999.

Battle Visuals